Canadian Disaster Risk Management Volunteer Award

The CRHNet “Canadian Disaster Risk Management Volunteer Award” is presented annually to nationally recognize exemplary volunteerism in the betterment of Canadian disaster risk management. This award is offered by the CRHNet membership to encourage disaster risk management volunteerism in Canada and to profile exceptional contributions either through direct volunteer work, volunteer initiatives, and/or voluntary programs.

Number of Awards: Each year up to three awards are offered, and recipients are announced at the annual fall CRHNet Symposium. Additionally, award winners are profiled in “HazNet”, CRHNet’s signature publication.

Eligibility: All persons or groups who volunteer their time to contribute to Canadian disaster risk management through practice, research, education and/or leadership are eligible for nomination. Similarly, volunteer initiatives or programs supporting Canadian disaster risk management are eligible for nomination. Nominators must be Canadian citizens.

Deadline: TBD

Selection: All applications will be adjudicated by the CRHNet Awards Committee against the posted eligibility and award criteria. Nomination packages will be assessed based on:

  1. The nature of the contribution(s);

  2. The duration of the contribution(s), and

  3. The impact of the contribution(s).

Award Notification: While we thank all nominators for forwarding volunteers or volunteer initiatives for consideration, only successful nominations will be notified by April 7 of the award decision.

Award Acceptance: Awards must be accepted or declined by April 15 of the year in which the award is given.

Nomination Instructions: Individuals can nominate a volunteer, group of volunteers, volunteer initiative or program by submitting a nomination package by email to the Award Coordinator (listed below). Please ensure your e-mailed submission identifies “Canadian Volunteer Award” in the subject line, and includes the following documents in Word or PDF formats:

  1. A one-page covering letter outlining why the nominee(s), initiative or program is deserving of this award

  2. A completed Canadian Volunteer Award Nomination Form, which can be found here,

  3. Three letters of reference from individuals working in the field of disaster management (e.g. academics, educators, practitioners) supporting the contributions of the nominee(s) initiative or program.

  4. For individual nominees (only):

    • A short Resume or Curriculum Vitae (CV),

    • A brief biography (max. 250 words),



Past Award Winners:

2017 - Halifax
Nicola Chebroux, Québec


michael kors outlet michael kors handbags outlet