Logo of the annual Symposium 2014
Logo of the Annual Symposium 2013
Logo of the Annual Symposium 2012
Logo of the Annual Symposium 2011

The State of the Nation: Infrastructure 2014

State of the Nation is ICE’s flagship report on the current state of the UK’s infrastructure. This State of the Nation Infrastructure 2014 report assesses the performance, capacity and condition of the UK’s economic infrastructure networks, and determines the actions required in order to improve and enhance performance, and importantly, to ensure that our infrastructure is resilient when faced with the many challenges ahead – from climate change to population growth.

Loss and Damage, Women and Men. Applying a gender approach to the emerging loss and damage agenda

Providing analysis and examples, this discussion paper aims to give guidance on gender considerations that should be included in international discussions on the emerging loss and damage agenda. Several issues will be dealt with in the loss and damage discussions in the run up and during upcoming international climate change negotiations, such as COP 19 in Warsaw. This paper is a direct contribution to those discussions and presents four main areas in which gender should be considered: 1. Capacity needs of developing countries, especially in addressing slow-onset events; 2.

Forensic Disaster Investigations in Depth: A New Case Study Model

In an effort to take the “natural” out of the term natural disasters, a group of scientists has proposed a new set of international disaster case studies under the title “Forensic Disaster Investigations.” The main purpose of this article is to outline the central concepts and rationale for the Forensic Disaster Investigations (FDIs), in the context of IRDR, and to invite comments, suggestions, and contributions.

After Action Report: June 2013 Flood

The purpose of an After Action Report is to examine the actions of the Town of High River’s Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) in response to the June 2013 flooding event to determine successes, challenges, lessons learned and recommendations. This report summarizes the After Action Report of the June 2013 High River Flood in respect to the Town of High River’s Emergency Management Program.